The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.
4 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.
Dewsbury
Dewsbury Arcade restoration
The restored arcade reopened in September 2026 with independent businesses and community management.
Reopened · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Kirklees Council
What the source says: The linked public record supports this project’s location, scope and stated stage; promised benefits are not measured outcomes.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named location verified; a current ward boundary match and the extent of benefits have not been verified. No ward-level outcome is inferred.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Dewsbury Arcade | Kirklees Council →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Help the reopened arcade sustain independent businesses →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Huddersfield
Our Cultural Heart
The programme plans a food hall, library and public square first, with park and museum work in later stages.
Phased programme; each opening needs separate confirmation · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Kirklees Council
What the source says: The linked public record supports this project’s location, scope and stated stage; promised benefits are not measured outcomes.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named location verified; a current ward boundary match and the extent of benefits have not been verified. No ward-level outcome is inferred.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Our council priorities | Kirklees Council →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Support more than one town centre →
New public spaces and cultural facilities need lasting budgets →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Dewsbury town centre
Dewsbury walking and cycling improvements
The scheme upgrades crossings and connections around the town centre.
Construction phase · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Kirklees Council
What the source says: The linked public record supports this project’s location, scope and stated stage; promised benefits are not measured outcomes.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named location verified; a current ward boundary match and the extent of benefits have not been verified. No ward-level outcome is inferred.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Dewsbury town centre walking and cycling improvement scheme | Kirklees Council →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Town-centre journeys still need safer connections →
How to track delivery →Batley
Batley Commercial Street improvements
The council plan schedules improvements to Commercial Street as part of the Batley masterplan.
Programme commitment; completion not verified · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Kirklees Council
What the source says: The linked public record supports this project’s location, scope and stated stage; promised benefits are not measured outcomes.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named location verified; a current ward boundary match and the extent of benefits have not been verified. No ward-level outcome is inferred.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Our council priorities | Kirklees Council →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Support more than one town centre →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →